Blue For The Holidays

Perhaps it’s the fact that I turn 39 next year, or that I attended my 20th High School Reunion this past summer, or maybe it’s because this is my fifth Christmas season in a row without a girlfriend… I don’t know… but I do know that I am feeling blue this holiday season.

Theresa and Bryan have put up their tree. Sean was adorable helping them out. I haven’t been to Laura’s house but I imagine their decorations are all up by now as well.

I love seeing my sisters and their families creating their traditions and making memories with their kids. It’s a beautiful thing.

Maybe that’s what it is. At one time I thought that I’d be well underway on creating my own memories at the holidays with a family of my own. At least with someone I love, if not with children we had together.

That must be it. A bit of the ol’ holiday hum drums because on this most glorious of family times, I am lacking in my own family.

Yes, I am a part of the holiday plans with both of my sisters and their families, and I love the time I have with them. But it’s increasingly feeling like I am a sort of ‘third wheel’ to their own festivities and rituals.

I’m not sure what the answer here is. Guess I’ll have to keep looking.

Leave a Reply

