INKed

Well it took me 15 years to finally live up to the promise I made to Bryan when we were in college and I got my first tattoo tonight. Hey, we’ve been shooting a production at King Ink here in Vegas for a few days… how could this not be the time to finally get it done?

Of course, as nice a joint as King Ink is, I couldn’t afford it. So we went to Atomic City. It’s a small little hole in the wall kind of place just north of the Stratosphere. We did a lot of research on line and they had great reviews on YELP and the price was fair. I’m very happy with our decision. A dude called “Monk” gave me my tat. (Short for Monkey, a nickname he got a long time ago and it’s gradually shortened up to Monk over the years.) I have to say the place was very clean, the staff was incredibly cool to deal with and very helpful in making that final decision and in keeping it fun while also being considerate of the fact that it was something I’d have to live with.

In the end Monk took the design I had been mulling over for a week (a design I found after 10 months of searching) and he tweaked it and improved it and the end result is something I’m very happy with. In fact, I think it’s pretty bad ass. So there’s another experience to check off the bucket list.

And for those of you wondering about the design, it’s in memory of my Dad. Mick left us 3 years ago this coming August 27. When he died my sisters and I all said we’d get ankh tattoos in his memory. The Ankh is the ancient Egyptian symbol for Life. Dad was very into the ancient Egyptian culture and was always fascinated by their belief system, their advanced technology and in their art. Many, many discussions were had regarding the Egyptians and many TV programs were watched with him regarding Pharoahs, Pyramids and more. We were actively planning out a trip to Egypt someday soon in the months before he passed. Alas, that’s a trip we’ll never take together. But I will forever display my Ankh and remember my Dad and the incredible Life he lived, the Life he gave to me, and the Life I hope to lead in his honor.

Leave a Reply

