iPad: Apple's New Lust Gadget?

Apple's New iPad

The Next Big Thing: The iPad

So Apple unveiled the iPad today.

Some people are already calling it a big failure. That it’s underwhelming. That it’s too pricey. That it just doesn’t make any sense.

Well… those are all the same criticisms we heard for the iPod, and the iPhone and iPod Touch. Yet, here we are. Apple is a $50 Billion a year business, and I’m pretty sure they are onto something here.

Now, the iPad is not a netbook, or a “traditional windows style tablet” or a replacement for a notebook.

No, the iPad is truly something new. It’s a device that is geared for those of us who are truly mobile internet users for whom the iPhone screen is too small for hours of use, and for whom a notebook is still just too much computer to lug around.

I think there’s a lot more of us out there for this than a lot of people realize.

Sure, right now the application capabilities of the iPad are not much greater than that of an iPod Touch or an iPhone. They do share the same core OS, but as a developer I know already that the iPad has greater functionality built into it’s interface than the smaller siblings it complements. In time developers are going to make killer apps for this product. Apple themselves have already shown us some of that power in the new iWork for iPad apps. Sleek desktop level apps, in a clean iPhone OS form factor. Nice.

I’ve watched the Keynote twice. And I’m sold. This is my next computing device. I don’t need a full fledged notebook to check email and surf the web and type up word processing docs while I’m sitting at the soccer fields. I just don’t. But I also don’t want to do those things on a tiny iPhone screen either. This is going to be perfect.

I’m looking forward to getting my hands on one as soon as I can! And at $499 to start, the price point is pretty sweet. It’s Apple’s cheapest entry into the computing line. I’m willing to bet they’ll sell a ton of these.

Leave a Reply

