Up Late Again

I guess this is one of the downsides of being single again. I just can’t seem to sleep anymore.

It’s kind of a big joke in the family and with all of my close friends, this reality that I can function on so little sleep. 3-4 hours really isn’t a big deal for me.

But, somehow, when I wasn’t single I found sleep much easier to find at night. I miss that about being with her. I miss the calmness of my mind. The way I was centered when she was with me. My mind would stop racing, my body would relax and sleep would come. It wan’t unusual for me to sleep a full 8 hours in a night, sometimes more.

But here I am, once again, staring at the clock. Listening to the nighttime sounds of the neighborhood around me. Wishing that somehow I could find the peace, the calmness, the comfort of a full night’s rest. I might not need it to function tomorrow, but I miss the way I felt when I was able to sleep easily. Maybe someday I’ll find that peace once again.

Leave a Reply

