2010 – First Impressions

So it’s not quite two weeks in to the year 2010 and I thought I’d take a moment to put down some thoughts on the year so far.

I remember being a kid and watching the movie 2010: The Year We Make Contact and thinking that 2010 was sooooo very far off. Can’t believe I’m actually living in the year now. It’s kind of crazy. It was always one of those sort of intangible milestones that I spoke about, but somehow, never really thought would come.

I don’t know how to explain it, but knowing that it is now the year 2010 is just a bit surreal for me.

So far the year has been a pretty strange one. I’m frightfully busy with projects for work. Somehow our business has managed to survive the economic downturn as though it never existed. This is good, as it has made all of us around here a lot more calm while the world seemed to be falling apart around us.

And yet, somehow, even with the blessings of all of this work I find myself longing for something different. Perhaps it’s a symptom of my recently becoming single again, but I am experiencing a great deal of wander-lust. Meaning, I have a huge urge to travel again. To just drop all that I’m doing and go start something completely new… preferably abroad. You know, a complete change of lifestyle, culture and business.

Who knows if I’ll actually pursue it. But the thoughts are all on my mind again. Last time I had this sort of desire I ended up working for Gold Coast traveling all over the country doing corporate events and concerts.

But, this is 2010! Not 1999. And my life is quite a bit different now. I am furiously working on finding the right angle to get Dawson Digital super successful. Not just for me, but for my siblings and their families and for my Mom. I honestly believe that if I work hard enough I can provide an incredible security for all of them through this company I started with Theresa and Dad. On that turn, we are actively working on iPhone App development, commercial video and graphic design work and even trying to figure out how to market our Team Ordering software system that’s been in development for over 2 years. Recently Karl has stated an interest in helping us with that one. I’ll meet with him when I return from working in Vegas this week to see what we can do.

Any one of these software pieces of the Dawson Digital pie has the potential to turn us all into millionaires. I really feel like this year we are right on the verge of finally realizing all that we have been pushing for since Dad died.

We shall see.

On a personal note, I am generally pretty happy. I am still sorting out how to deal with my broken heart. I’m not angry, or bitter. Just sad and confused. Hopeful for what the future holds, but still wishing that the future was something I was pursuing with the woman I love. Not something I am building alone. But you never know what the future holds for you. Do you?

I have found that since the year began I am terribly late for almost everything. I mean, I just can’t seem to show up on time for any appointments. At all! Wonder if that will settle down as the year progresses, or if that’s a new behavior pattern for me.

I will be turning 35 this May. 35 is a big number for me. I’m reaching some turning points in my life. Some markers that I have set for myself many moons ago are quickly approaching. It’s time, I guess, to really evaluate who I am again, and what I want to do with myself. A good thing to do periodically I feel. But somehow, this year, it all feels so much more… heavy.

I’m going to try and chronicle my thoughts more often this year. I have a feeling it’s going to be a good year to keep track of. I feel change in the wind. It’ll be good to see how I react to it all. Someday down the road I have a feeling I’ll be able to look back at the posts from this year and say, “AHA! You see! That was where this all began!”

Here I go.

Leave a Reply

