Where To Start

So, the economy is in the toilet. I’m desperately trying to keep my personal finances from spiraling more out of control than they already have and because of this I am going out less and less frequently to the new movies in the cinema.

So it got me to thinking the other day. “What about all those movies on my shelf?” I mean really, at last count there were over 300 movies on my DVD shelf.

Can you imagine? If I watched those at a rate of 1 film a week, it would take me six plus years to watch all of those movies.

How cool is that?

And it won’t cost me anything. And best of all, I can go back and watch those films with a new eye. A filmmaker’s eye. I’m going to use this blog to analyze those films. I’m not sure how detailed those reviews and analysis will be. I have a feeling it will vary from week to week. But I will use this blog as a chance to “educate” myself more on the history, methods, and styles of filmmakers from all areas, genres and eras.

This should be a lot of fun. Now, the question is what film do I start with?

I’ve narrowed it down to a few that I think would be fun to begin with. What are your thoughts on these films?

  • Cassablanca
  • Schindler’s List (I’ve never even opened the DVD)
  • What Dreams May Come
  • The Breakfast Club

I hope that you’ll give me your input on this, and I sincerely hope that you follow along on my cinematic journey. Who knows? Maybe some of my reviews will spark an interest for you in watching a film you’ve never seen, or an old classic that you’ve forgotten?

This should be fun! Be sure to leave your comments below!

3 thoughts on “Where To Start

  1. Since you’ve just come through the loss of someone dear to you, I wonder if you have collected any films that deal with death? I don’t mean that have death in them–it seems hard to find anything that doesn’t (sigh)–but where the death or afterlife experience of one of the lead characters is the subject of the film. Like “What Dreams May Come” or “Defending Your Life.”

    • I do have What Dreams May Come… it’s one of my favorite movies ever. It is in my list of the first few films I want to review. Maybe I’ll push that one for next week… hmmm.

Leave a Reply

