Kick the Tires and Light the Fires…

The one and only...

The one and only...

Ok… if late 2007 and all of 2008 represent the actual end of my youth (some would say that for many of us the death of a parent is the beginning of our true adulthood) then it would stand to reason that 2009 is a year for a new beginning.

This is the year that I stand up and accept my role as an adult. I accept the responsibility of my own care and well being. I accept that I can no longer behave like a young person who doesn’t understand the consequences of his own actions.

I accept the fact that starting new means doing some very difficult things. That it means that I have to set right many of things I did wrong in my youthful carelessness.

So, I have spent quite a bit of time and energy in the past couple of weeks trying to sort out just how to go about dealing with the sins of my past while trying to continue on the path I’ve laid out for my future. Ultimately, the path to my future can only be successfully traversed by righting my past wrongs. So in many ways, dealing with my troubles is continuing on my path forward. It’s not looking behind. It’s not a pit stop on the road to my goal lines. It’s all part of the steps forward.

I’m ready to move forward. I’m ready to stand tall. Are you all ready to move forward with me?

Leave a Reply

