Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.

Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.
Jane Howard, “Families”

So, my cousing Eric has moved to San Diego and is staying with me in my already cramped apartment.

Not that I’m complaining in any way! I love that my family feels like they can lean on me for support in their times of need. Honestly, that kind of faith in me is something that makes me feel special and needed.

Eric is a trip. We’ve not really seen one another much in the past 20 years or so. Actually, we hadn’t seen each other in twenty years until Eric’s dad died a couple of months ago. We reconnected at the funeral in Indiana.

It’s really unfortunate that it often takes a death in a family to actually bring members of that family back together.

Anyway, while in Indiana I told Eric (who was living with Uncle Bob in Houston, TX when he died) that he was welcome to come and stay with me in SD if he’d like to come out. I wasn’t just saying what I thought he wanted to hear, I truly meant it. I’ll go out of my way to help out people I love. And I love all of my family members.

A few weeks went by and I figured Eric wasn’t going to take any of us up on our offers (everyone offered similar helping hands to him). But two weeks ago Eric emailed me and said he was wondering if my offer still stood. Of course it did!

So Eric worked out a few, um, situations in Houston and Tulsa and made his way to SD. He finally arrived here Monday night. Naturally I spent all day Sunday and all day Monday desperately trying to clean house before his arrival. (Thanks to Teesa and Laura for all their help! Laura especially for doing so much without anyone asking her to.)

Teesa was also kind enough to donate her bed to Eric’s needs. So by midday Monday, my messy storage room/bedroom had become a dorm style room for two.

Eric seemed pleased to find a bed waiting for him.

It’s been a real treat having him here with us. His child like moments of amazement at his actually being here are wonderful. He says he’s always wanted to return to SD (he was born here, after all), but he never thought he’d actually make it here it seems. We took him to Las Olas his first full day here and gave him a taste of some of SD’s best mexican food. While we waited for our table we sat on the beach as the sun was setting. He spent a good deal of time just standing by the ocean staring out to sea. It was interesting watching him standing there, alone at the edge of the ocean.

I’ve found myself wondering several times since then, “what was he thinking at that moment?

I’m sure his thoughts were on his father and on his mother and most likely on his own future.

He’s made a big step in coming to San Diego. It’s a long way from all that he’s become used to in the midwest. He’s been helping me park cars for the Surf Soccer Club all week. He’s really gotten a kick out of working outside in the pleasant weather, amongst beautiful homes and people and getting paid to do it all.

Of course… he should have worn sunscreen. He’s really red now. 😉

Tomorrow we are doing a bonfire at Moonlight Beach in Encinitas. We’re gonna hang at the beach for most of the day and show Eric what our summer’s are like. It’ll be, as my friend Daniel put it, “a good, relaxing, So-Cal kind of thing to do.

Amen brother… Amen!

-Dave

Leave a Reply

