A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by the wisest men.

A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by the wisest men.

Roald Dahl (1916 – 1990) (Willy Wonka) Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

My day started out kind of bland. The usual humdrums of existence weighing down upon me. I made my way out into the world before noon. I was hoping to get out sooner than that, but hey, I just couldn’t get going, you know?

I went to AAA and finally got my truck insured and registered. It’s nice to be able to drive the thing around and not worry about whether or not a cop is tailing me.

I came home and grabbed Donald, we drove to Solana Beach and loaded up a weight machine into my truck that was donated to the Surf Soccer Club. We then went over to the Soares’ house and took some photos of a sweet 1930 Ford Model A that we are going to auction on eBay. (The weight set will be auctioned there too. Actually we are going to auction lots of stuff there in the future for the club.) The car was cool, and it was neat to see Donald enjoying that particular piece of history.

Actually, it’s always nice to see someone looking upon something they really love. And Donald loves old cars. No doubt about that.

After doing the car thing I headed over to Alissa’s. I wasn’t sure about stopping by since she sent me a text message that said she was feeling “anti-social to most of the world” or something like that. But I took a gamble and stopped by anyway.

I’m glad I did. I was finally able to deliver the 5X7 of her I printed from our Vegas trip. It’s a beautiful photo of a beautiful woman (it’s of Alissa). Anyway I had it in a frame and all. She seemed to really like it. I think it may have brightened up her day a bit. We sat around and talked. It was nice. We haven’t seen each other in a month since Vegas. But we seemed to just pick up right where we left off. I really enjoy that. I like having a friend that I can just sit with and connect to.

And speaking of connecting. It seems Bryan (with a Y) and I were on the same wavelength today and both had decided today was a good day to talk to one another. We talked for about an hour on the phone late tonight. He’s doing really well. He’s hit the 200 days sober mark and I am so VERY VERY PROUD of him. He’s come a long way since he left San Diego. He even told me that he’s agreed to start training for a manager’s position at Humperdink’s there in Arlington. That’s a pretty big step for him. He’s actually reached a point in his life where he feels ready to accept some responsibility. That’s courageous and a great move forward in his attitude toward life. Way to go Bryan!

That’s all for now I think. It’s like 3:30am and I should really get to bed. I am going to see Spider Man at midnight tomorrow, er, tonight. And I should really get my beauty rest. I hope Spidey 2 is as good as the hype is making it out to be. I really like Sam Raimi, so it’s definitely a hope I have for him to knock this one out of the park. He came damn close with the first one.

Until next time… be good! And if you can’t be good, then be good at being bad!

-Dave

One thought on “A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by the wisest men.

Leave a Reply

