It was the best of times… It was the worst of times…

How does one write about a weekend that was filled with both the extremeties of joy and sorrow as this one has been?

We buried my Uncle Bob on Saturday. It was without a doubt, “the worst of times.” However, because of his death I was able, along with my sisters, to reconnect and enjoy the love we share with cousins we haven’t seen in nearly 20 years. The simple act of reconnecting with them being amongst the “best of times.”

And while we mourn the passing of my Uncle, a man who was devoted to his children and who was known by all who knew him as a good man with a big heart and a great sense of humor, he has done what he seemed to never be able to do in his life… he has brought this family closer together than it has been in over 20 years. I for one intend to work very hard to keep in touch with Eric, Jennifer, Brian and Jessica in the years to come.

I hate that through the years they have become like strangers to me. People I’ve heard of but never talked to. Family that I know of and yet know not. This to me is unacceptable. This will not go on. It can’t.

And I’m sure Bob would want us to stop wasting anymore time and start getting to know one another better. There’s a lot of love in this family, it’s time we start sharing it with one another.

Oh… and tomorrow, on the way home we have a 2 hour layover in Dallas. Bryan (With a “Y” for those in the know) is going to meet us there and my family and I will get our first glimpse of him as a sober person. He’s approaching 6 months sober now and seems to be doing fairly well based on the phone conversations I have had with him over the past week. It’ll be nice, and weird seeing him again. I’ll be sure to let you, dear reader, know more after tomorrow.

Until next time! Go with love in your hearts and joy in your spirit for somewhere in this Universe there is LOVE for everyone.

-Dave

Leave a Reply

